News Column

Advanced Cell Technology: 5 Leading Scientists Added to Advisory Board

September 5, 2014

Advanced Cell Technology said that it has added five leading scientists to its new Scientific Advisory Board.

The Board will be chaired by Robert Langer, ScD, David H. Koch Institute Professor at MIT and member of ACT's Board of Directors, the Company noted in its release.

"We are honored to welcome such esteemed colleagues to our new Scientific Advisory Board," said Robert Lanza, MD, Chief Scientific Officer at ACT, "The Company will benefit greatly from their new perspectives and diversity of experience and together they bring extensive expertise in cell biology, clinical translation, and the broader field of regenerative medicine. Together with Dr. Langer, the new Board spans the continuum from laboratory and translational research to drugs and biologics development through clinical trials. Dr. Lanza added "ACT is at the forefront of regenerative medicine and plans to initiate phase 2 clinical trials for the treatment of Stargardt's macular degeneration (SMD) and age-related macular degeneration (AMD). The Company has made substantial progress in these areas and as advisors, the SAB will be critical in harnessing creativity with scientific rigor to help steer the Company in its pursuit of discovery and development of novel therapies for patients in need."

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are:

Constance Cepko, PhD, Bullard Professor of Genetics and Neuroscience, Departments of Genetics and Ophthalmology, and Co- Director, Leder Human Biology and Translational Medicine at Harvard Medical School.

George Daley, MD, PhD, Samuel E. Lux IV Professor of Hematology/ Oncology at Boston Children's Hospital and Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School, and past-President of the International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR).

John Gearhart, PhD, James W. Effron University Professor and the Director of the Institute for Regenerative Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

Robert Langer, ScD, David H. Koch Institute Professor at MIT, is the only person ever to receive both the US National Medal of Science and the United States National Medal of Technology and Innovation as well as being elected to all three United States National Academies, and has served as a member and Chairman of the FDA's Science Board, its highest advisory board.

Michael Longaker, MD, Deane P. and Louise Mitchell Professor, Vice Chair of the Department of Surgery, Director of the Program in Regenerative Medicine, and Co-Director of the Institute of Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine at Stanford University.

Joseph Vacanti, MD, John Homans Professor of Surgery and Director of the Laboratory for Tissue Engineering and Organ Fabrication at Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts General Hospital.

"This group represents some of the best minds in stem cell research and regenerative medicine," said Robert Langer, ScD, Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board. "Their knowledge and expertise will help guide the Company's strategic direction and identify the most promising scientific programs ranging from discovering new therapeutic cell types to developing treatments that could significantly improve the lives of those suffering from debilitating diseases. Over the years, ACT's scientists have made important advances in the development and underlying science of stem cell-based therapies. The Board's contribution will play an important role in advancing these scientific programs to the clinic."

More Information and Complete Details:

((Comments on this story may be sent to

For more stories covering the world of technology, please see HispanicBusiness' Tech Channel

Source: Health & Beauty Close - Up

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters