News Column

Tony Boselli Set for Aug. 30 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, Presented by Fidelity Investments

August 28, 2014

IRVING, Texas, Aug. 28 -- The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame issued the following news release:

The University of Southern California and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that they will jointly honor Tony Boselli with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, on Aug. 30 in Los Angeles during the game between USC and Fresno State. Coverage of the game will start at 7:30 p.m. ET on FOX.

"It's a huge honor," Boselli said to shortly after the announcement in May. "To be recognized with the greats who played college football through the history of college football is amazing. It's not why anyone plays the game. You play to win. You play the best you can. You play for the guys and the love of the game, but it's a pretty good by-product. And it's a pretty nice honor that that's the result."

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program is a hallowed tradition that began with the inaugural class in 1951, and to this day the salutes remain the first of numerous activities in each inductee's Hall of Fame experience. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game, and many inductees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them one more chance to take the field and hear the crowd roar their name.

"Tony Boselli was one of the most successful offensive linemen of his era both on and off the field," said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. "He was very instrumental in leading the Trojans to three consecutive bowls, including victories in the 1993 Freedom Bowl and 1995 Cotton Bowl. We are thrilled to honor him in front of the USC faithful at the Coliseum."

During a decorated career at USC from 1991-94, Boselli twice earned All-America honors, and the NFF named him an NFF National Scholar-Athlete after the 1994 season. A consensus First-Team All-American in his senior season, he was named the 1994 team captain and MVP. He was a finalist for the Outland Trophy and a two-time semifinalist for the Lombardi Award. He claimed the 1994 Morris Trophy as the top offensive lineman in the Pac-10, and he was a three-time All-Pac 10 selection and USC's Offensive Player of the Year his rookie season. He earned academic all-conference honors three times, and he received the Trojans' Howard Jones Football Alumni Club Academic Award as a senior. Boselli played under Hall of Fame coach John Robinson and coach Larry Smith.

The first-ever draft pick by the Jacksonville Jaguars, Boselli was selected as the second overall pick in 1995. The five-time Pro Bowl selection played seven seasons with the Jaguars before finishing his career with the Houston Texans in 2002.

The Modesto, Calif., native was inducted into the USC Athletic Hall of Fame in 2012. A founding partner of IF Marketing, he established the Boselli Foundation in 1995 to work with at-risk youth and help them to cultivate high self-esteem and to succeed at home, at school and at play. He currently works as a radio analyst for Jacksonville Jaguars games and a show host on AM 1010XL.

Boselli becomes the 31st Trojan to be inducted, joining Marcus Allen (1978-81), Jon Arnett (1954-56), John Baker (1929-31), Hal Bedsole (1961-63), Ricky Bell (1973-76), Tay Brown (1930-32), Brad Budde (1976-79), Paul Cleary (1946-47), Sam Cunningham (1970-72), Anthony Davis (1972-74), Morley Drury (1925-27), John Ferraro (1943-44, 1946-47), Mike Garrett (1963-65), Frank Gifford (1949-51), Mort Kaer (1924-26), Ronnie Lott (1977-80), Mike McKeever (1958-60), Dan McMillan (1917, 1919), Erny Pinckert (1929-31), Marvin Powell (1974-76), Aaron Rosenberg (1931-33), O.J. Simpson (1967-68), Ernie Smith (1930-32), Harry Smith (1937-39), Lynn Swann (1971-73), Cotton Warburton (1932-34), Charlie White (1976-79), Richard Wood (1972-74), Ron Yary (1965-67) and Charles Young (1970-72). Three coaches with stops in Los Angeles are in the Hall: Howard Jones (1925-40), John McKay (1960-75) and John Robinson (1976-82, 1993-97).

Including the 2014 class, only 948 players and 207 coaches have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame from the nearly 5.06 million people who have played or coached the game over the past 145 years. In other words, only two ten-thousandths of one percent (.0002) of those who have set foot on the gridiron have earned the distinction. Click here for a complete list of players and coaches in the Hall.

The 2014 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted at the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, held at New York City's historic Waldorf Astoria Hotel on Tuesday, Dec. 9, and their accomplishments will be forever immortailzied in the new College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The 2014 inductees include: Dre Bly (DB, North Carolina), Tony Boselli (OT, Southern California), Dave Butz (DT, Purdue), Shane Conlan (LB, Penn State), Joe Hamilton (QB, Georgia Tech), John Huard (LB, Maine), Darrin Nelson (HB, Stanford), Willie Roaf (OL, Louisiana Tech), John Sciarra (QB, UCLA), Sterling Sharpe (WR, South Carolina), Leonard Smith (CB, McNeese State), the late Derrick Thomas (LB, Alabama), LaDainian Tomlinson (TB, TCU), Wesley Walls (TE, Mississippi), and coaches Mike Bellotti (Chico State [Calif.], Oregon) and Jerry Moore (North Texas, Texas Tech and Appalachian State). For more information about attending the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, please contact Will Rudd at or by calling 972.556.1000.

Scheduled 2014 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes,

Presented by Fidelity Investments

(Chronological Order)

Table omitted. Click here to view:

The 2014 season marks the fifth season that Fidelity Investments, a leading provider of not-for-profit workplace retirement savings plans to higher education employees, is serving as the national presenting sponsor of the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes. The salutes are one component of a multi-year initiative between the two organizations to celebrate the scholar-athlete ideal and a joint commitment to higher education. Other highlights of the sponsorship include Fidelity becoming the first presenting sponsor of the organization's prestigious NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards and helping launch the NFF Faculty Salutes Initiative, which recognizes the contributions of the faculty athletics representatives around the country.

TNS 18DejucosGrace-140829-30FurigayJane-4841541 30FurigayJane

For more stories on investments and markets, please see HispanicBusiness' Finance Channel

Source: Targeted News Service

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters