News Column

John Huard Set for Aug. 30 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, Presented by Fidelity Investments

August 28, 2014

IRVING, Texas, Aug. 28 -- The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame issued the following news release:

The University of Maine and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that they will jointly honor John Huard with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, on Aug. 30 in Orono during the game between Maine and Norfolk State. Coverage of the game will start at 6 p.m. ET on the Maine Athletics website (

"John Huard was the greatest football player in the history of the state of Maine," said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. "He was very instrumental in leading the Black Bears to prominence and his impact on the university can still be felt to this day. We are thrilled to honor him in front of the Maine faithful at Alfond Stadium."

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program is a hallowed tradition that began with the inaugural class in 1951, and to this day the salutes remain the first of numerous activities in each inductee's Hall of Fame experience. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game, and many inductees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them one more chance to take the field and hear the crowd roar their name.

A two-time First-Team All-America (1965, 1966) selection, Huard led Maine to its first postseason game (the 1965 Tangerine Bowl) during a stellar career in Orono from 1964-66.

Huard, also a two-time First-Team All-Yankee Conference honoree, recorded 22 tackles in his first game in 1964. Named one of the top 20 athletes in the history of the state of Maine by Sports Illustrated, Huard holds the honor of being the first football player inducted into the Maine Athletic Hall of Fame and the first member of Alfond Stadium's Ring of Honor.

Chosen by the Denver Broncos in the fifth round of the 1967 NFL Draft, Huard played four seasons with the Broncos and New Orleans Saints. Huard became the head coach at Acadia University, leading the Axemen to Canadian National Championships in 1979 and 1981, before stints with Maine Maritime Academy and the Toronto Argonauts of the Canadian Football League.

An active participant with the NFF State of Maine Chapter, Huard also volunteers with the Boys and Girls Club and the Susan Curtis Foundation. The Waterville, Maine, native currently serves as President of Northeast Turf / Eastern Builders, which represents GreenFields artificial grass system made by TenCate of the Netherlands.

Huard becomes the first Maine player to be inducted and joins former Maine coaches David Nelson (1949-50) and Ed Robinson (1902) in the Hall. Including the 2014 class, only 948 players and 207 coaches have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame from the nearly 5.06 million people who have played or coached the game over the past 146 years. In other words, only two ten-thousandths of one percent (.0002) of those who have set foot on the gridiron have earned the distinction. Click here for a complete list of players and coaches in the Hall.

The 2014 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted at the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, held at New York City's historic Waldorf Astoria Hotel on Tuesday, Dec. 9, and their accomplishments will be forever immortailzied in the new College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The 2014 inductees include: Dre Bly (DB, North Carolina), Tony Boselli (OT, Southern California), Dave Butz (DT, Purdue), Shane Conlan (LB, Penn State), Joe Hamilton (QB, Georgia Tech), John Huard (LB, Maine), Darrin Nelson (HB, Stanford), Willie Roaf (OL, Louisiana Tech), John Sciarra (QB, UCLA), Sterling Sharpe (WR, South Carolina), Leonard Smith (CB, McNeese State), the late Derrick Thomas (LB, Alabama), LaDainian Tomlinson (TB, TCU), Wesley Walls (TE, Mississippi), and coaches Mike Bellotti (Chico State [Calif.], Oregon) and Jerry Moore (North Texas, Texas Tech and Appalachian State). For more information about attending the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, please contact Will Rudd at or by calling 972.556.1000.

Scheduled 2014 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes,

Presented by Fidelity Investments

(Chronological Order)

Table omitted. Click here to view:

The 2014 season marks the fifth season that Fidelity Investments, a leading provider of not-for-profit workplace retirement savings plans to higher education employees, is serving as the national presenting sponsor of the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes. The salutes are one component of a multi-year initiative between the two organizations to celebrate the scholar-athlete ideal and a joint commitment to higher education. Other highlights of the sponsorship include Fidelity becoming the first presenting sponsor of the organization's prestigious NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards and helping launch the NFF Faculty Salutes Initiative, which recognizes the contributions of the faculty athletics representatives around the country.

TNS 18DejucosGrace-140829-30FurigayJane-4841556 30FurigayJane

For more stories on investments and markets, please see HispanicBusiness' Finance Channel

Source: Targeted News Service

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters