News Column

Typhoon Halong opens its eye again for NASA

August 20, 2014



By a News Reporter-Staff News Editor at Defense & Aerospace Week -- When NASA's Aqua satellite passed over Typhoon Halong on its northern journey through the western North Pacific Ocean, it became wide-eyed again after going through eyewall replacement.

Eyewall replacement happens when the thunderstorms that circle the eye of a powerful hurricane are replaced by other thunderstorms. Basically, a new eye begins to develop around the old eye and it usually indicates a weakening trend.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument aboard Aqua captured a visible image of Halong on August 6 at 04:30 UTC (12:30 a.m. EDT). The image showed powerful bands of thunderstorms swirling into the center from the northwestern quadrant that wrapped entirely around the cyclone. The image shows the island of Okinawa hundreds of miles north-northwest of Halong's eye.

The day before, August 5, NASA and the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency's Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) satellite saw Typhoon Halong on August 5, 2014 at 1550 UTC (11:50 a.m. EDT). Halong was still a strong violent category 2 typhoon with winds of 85 knots (97.8 mph/57.4 kph). Rainfall derived from TRMM's Precipitation Radar instrument revealed that rain was falling at a rate of over 87 mm (about 3.4 inches) per hour south of the Halong's eye.

Keywords for this news article include: Aerospace, NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center.

Our reports deliver fact-based news of research and discoveries from around the world. Copyright 2014, NewsRx LLC


For more stories covering the world of technology, please see HispanicBusiness' Tech Channel



Source: Defense & Aerospace Week


Story Tools






HispanicBusiness.com Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters