News Column

11th Annual McDonald's 365Black Awards to Air on BET Networks August 10

August 22, 2014



By a News Reporter-Staff News Editor at Entertainment Newsweekly -- McDonald's USA announced it will televise its 11(th) Annual 365Black Awards ceremony for the second consecutive year on national cable television network Black Entertainment Television® (BET®). Hosted by national television correspondent/actor Terrence 'J' Jenkins and leading actress Tika Sumpter, the program will air Sunday, August 10 at 10 p.m. EDT/9 p.m. CDT. Those who miss the first airing can catch it again Sunday, August 17 at 11 p.m. EDT/10 p.m. CDT on CENTRIC.

http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnvar/20140617/118973

This year's McDonald's 365Black Awards will feature an all-star lineup, including show-stopping performances by recording artists Pastor Kim Burrell, Tank, Leela James, Jazmine Sullivan, Kierra Sheard, Mali Music and Ledisi. Singer/actress Michelle Williams, veteran radio personality Tom Joyner, news correspondent Soledad O'Brien, film director Warrington Hudlin, actress Naturi Naughton and news correspondent Nischelle Turner, will be among celebrities who will present the awards to the honorees.

McDonald's 365Black Awards are given annually to salute outstanding individuals who are committed to making positive contributions that strengthen the African-American community. This year's honorees include: civil rights activist the Rev. Al Sharpton; film producer Will Packer; music executive Kevin Liles; inspirational leader Iyanla Vanzant; former NFL athlete Dhani Jones; and McDonald's owner/operator Henry Coaxum. Additionally, artist Skyler Grey and entrepreneur Gabrielle Jordan Williams were recognized alongside this lineup with the first McDonald's 365Black Community Choice Youth Award.

"We are proud to again partner with BET Networks to broadcast McDonald's annual 365Black Awards," said Rob Jackson, McDonald's U.S. marketing director. "McDonald's is committed to being deeply rooted in the community every day, and we're pleased to salute leaders who are dedicated to enriching our communities."

McDonald's 365Black Awards launched in 2003 as an extension of the company's 365Black platform, which celebrates the pride, heritage and achievements of African-Americans year-round. Fans can follow @McDScene on Twitter for updates on the awards show and join the conversation using #365BlackAwards.

Keywords for this news article include: Television, McDonald's Usa.

Our reports deliver fact-based news of research and discoveries from around the world. Copyright 2014, NewsRx LLC


For more stories covering arts and entertainment, please see HispanicBusiness' Arts & Entertainment Channel



Source: Entertainment Newsweekly


Story Tools






HispanicBusiness.com Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters