News Column

Nine Institutes to Get N180m Grant From World Bank, EU, Delta

July 2, 2014

Felix Igbekoyi

Six technical colleges and three vocational training institutes are to benefit from N180 million grants from World Bank, European Union and Delta State Government.

The six technical colleges that will benefit from the programme include Uta-Gbogbe Technical College, Agbor Technical College, Ogor Technical College and Sapele Technical College.

Benson Ojoko, Coordinator of the State Employment and Expenditure for Results Projects (SEEFOR), made the disclosure on Wednesday in Asaba at a workshop organised for the project implementation committee and the centre based management committee of youth vocational centres in the state.

He said the grant was meant to improve facilities in the technical and vocational colleges.

The coordinator explained that more than 70 per cent of the grant would be for skill acquisition and educational equipment, while less than 20 per cent would be for capacity building. He further said that the remaining would be for consultancy services and administration in the institutes.

Ojoko said the essence was to increase the students' access to relevant skill acquisitions that would make them employable.

The state Commissioner for Youth, Ebifa Ijomah, commended the World Bank, EU and the state government for the grant.

"For some time now, our nation has been going through turbulent time and this has made it very difficult for youths to earn a living. And if we pursue this programme with all our heart, the lives of the youths will be better," he said.

For more stories on investments and markets, please see HispanicBusiness' Finance Channel

Source: AllAfrica

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters