News Column

Mayor Gonzales Announces Recipients of the 2014 Mayor's Awards for Excellence in the Arts

July 23, 2014

SANTA FE, N.M., July 23 -- The city of Santa Fe issued the following news:

Mayor Javier M. Gonzales and the City of Santa Fe Arts Commission are pleased to announce the five individuals who will receive the 2014 Mayor's Awards for Excellence in the Arts.

"Santa Fe's arts community is made rich and vibrant thanks to the contributions of many individuals," said Mayor Gonzales. "I look forward to honoring five of these individuals by acknowledging their unique and important contributions."

The 2014 Mayors Awards recipients are: George Ancona, an award-winning photographer, illustrator and author; Lawrence Fodor, a painter, curator, collector and patron; Talia Kosh, the co-president and founder of New Mexico Lawyers for the Arts; Joanne Lefrank, an artist, educator and youth advocate; and Jason Silverman, Director of the CCA Cinematheque, and film writer; and finally critic. Danny Cron is a stage actor and director who has been selected to receive the 2014 Melissa Engestrom Youth Artist Award.

An awards ceremony and dinner will be held on Thursday, October 23 at 6:30 p.m. at the Sweeney Ballroom in the Santa Fe Community Convention Center to honor the recipients. Information regarding the dinner, including ticket information, will be available in August. Table sponsorship opportunities are available. The 2014 Mayor's Awards for Excellence in the Arts are generously sponsored by Century Bank.

The Mayor's Awards for Excellence in the Arts were established in 1989. The awards present a way to acknowledge living individuals and active organizations that have made a significant contribution to the arts in Santa Fe. Nominations from the community are collected each year for consideration. Throughout the years, the awards have honored a remarkable list of artists, individuals, organizations and businesses. Past recipients include: Lloyd Kiva New, Fray Angelico Chavez, Allan Houser, El Rancho de las Golondrinas, Charles Carrillo, John Crosby, Eldorado Hotel, Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, Linda Durham, Dan Namingha, Charmay Allred, Jerry West, Bert Dalton as well as Nancy and William Zeckendorf.

CC AutoTriage6yd-140724-30VitinMar-4807331

For more stories covering arts and entertainment, please see HispanicBusiness' Arts & Entertainment Channel

Source: Targeted News Service

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters