News Column

Scarlet Knights capture numerous awards

June 23, 2014

By Paul Tennant, The Eagle-Tribune, North Andover, Mass.

June 23--NORTH ANDOVER -- The day before they received their diplomas, North Andover High seniors attended Awards Day, their last assembly at the school.

Numerous soon-to-be graduates as well as other students were honored for their prowess as students, athletes, artists, musicians and humanitarians. Academic awards were presented to seniors having the highest achievement in each subject.

Keval Gala, the valedictorian, earned academic awards in math, science and French. Gala is also a National Merit Scholarship winner.

The other seniors who received academic awards were Kimberly Hamilton, art; Kevin Varga, band; Samantha Snow, business education; Nicholas Laurendeau, ceramics; Emilier Gil, chorus; Preston Epps, English; Cameryn Tieuli, food service; James Klimas, history/social studies; Samantha Rodrigues, photography; Kyle Young, wellness; James McDaniel, German; Michael Canale, Spanish.

The Superintendent's Certificate of Excellence was presented to Gala and Victoria Sullivan, the salutatorian.

Other awards and honors:

National Merit commended students -- Preston Epps, James McDaniel, Benjamin Gleed, Aidan Olsen, Jonah Knopping, Arslan Sheikh, Soham Kudtarkar.

Massachusetts Secondary School Administrators' Student Achievement Award -- Ian Burns and Nicole Martel.

President's Award for Educational Excellence -- Kathleen Doughty, Jonah Knopping, Preston Epps, James McDaniel, Keval Gala, Christine O'Connor, Benjamin Gleed, Heather Schuetner, Shannon Hill, Arslan Sheikh, Erik Hollenbeck.

President's Volunteer Service Award -- Kaitlyn Tegtmeyer.

Semper Fidelis Award for Music Excellence -- Kathleen Doughty and Alexander Langston.

Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association Student Ambassador Award -- Morgan Coakley.

Bausch & Lamb Award -- Madison Cool.

Rensselaer Medal Award -- Caroline Zhang.

Society of Women Engineers of Boston high honors award -- Kathleen Doughty, Julie Gallant, Shannon Hill, Samantha Rodrigues.

Rick Gorman Peace Prize -- Nicholas Cincotta and Donna Cody (faculty member).

Scarlet Knights Award for Outstanding Service to North Andover High School -- Kevin Varga.

North Andover High School Principal's Award -- Ekta Patel.

North Andover High School Scarlet Knight Academy Citizen Award -- Matthew Piemonte.

North Andover High School Scarlet Knight Academy Scholar Award -- Alexandria Citron.

Club awards -- Ekta Patel, Best Buddies; Jordie Kamuene, Community Media; Keval Gala, Cosmos Club; Garrett Chisholm, Dance Club; Meghan Iannarone, DECA; Carlos Joseph Barcelos, Drama Guild; Roma Aurora, Interact; Jordie Kamuene, Literary Magazine; Keval Gala, Math Team; Courtney Holland, National Honor Society; Lauren McElroy, SADD; Florian Reiderer, Science & Engineering Guild; Danielle Voke, Spirit Club and yearbook; Courtney Holland, Student Ambassadors; Nicole Martel, Student Council; Mindy Freedman, The Wall (student newspaper); Michael Canale, Ultimate Frisbee.

Athletic awards -- Tyler Lee, baseball; Kyle White, boys basketball; Christina Castaldo, girls basketball; Gabrielle DeMaio, fall cheerleading; Madisen Faucher, winter cheerleading; Joseph McManus, boys cross country; Katelyn Thomas, girls cross country; Shannon Cronin, field hockey; Casey Walsh, football; Cameron Carito, golf; Danie Zaiter, gymnastics; Austin Brown, boys ice hockey; Thomas Stabile, boys lacrosse; Julie Galant, girls lacrosse; Matthew Testa, boys ski team; Juliet McFadden, girls ski team; Michael Skarbelis, boys soccer; Victoria Sullivan, girls soccer; Paige Ahlholm, softball; Liam Walsh, boys swimming; Christina Deveaux, girls swimming; Kyle White, boys tennis; Jennifer Pietrowski, girls tennis; Daniel Marino, boys indoor track; Katherine McManus, girls indoor track; Patrick Wolfgang, boys spring track; Jenna Smolag, girls spring track; Meredith Eagan, volleyball; Brad Drover, wrestling.

Book awards, presented to juniors by colleges and universities -- Kyra Brown and Alexander Gamble, St. Michael's; Erin McKenna, Regis; Erik Klose, Cornell; Simonne Brissenden, Columbia; Ophelia Deng, Holy Cross; Nicole Ayres, Yale; Maura Barry, Dartmouth; Caroline Zhang, Wellesley; Madison Cool, Harvard.

League of Women Voters Book Award -- Clare McGladrigan.


(c)2014 The Eagle-Tribune (North Andover, Mass.)

Visit The Eagle-Tribune (North Andover, Mass.) at

Distributed by MCT Information Services

For more stories covering arts and entertainment, please see HispanicBusiness' Arts & Entertainment Channel

Source: Eagle-Tribune (North Andover, MA)

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters