News Column


May 9, 2014

Item 8.01 Other Events

MainStreet BankShares, Inc., ("MainStreet") held its 2014 Annual Meeting of Shareholders on May 8, 2014 at Shively Electric, Community Room, 1647 Franklin Street, Rocky Mount, Virginia, 24151. The shareholders elected one Class A director to serve until the 2017 Annual Meeting of Shareholders, or in the case of the director, until his or her successor is duly elected and qualifies. The director elected was Michael A. Turner. Also, C. Laine Dalton and Joel R. Shepherd will continue as Class B directors, whose terms expires in 2015. Continuing Class C directors are J. Mac Deekens and Danny M. Perdue, whose terms expire in 2016.

Total shares represented in person or by proxy at the Annual Shareholders' Meeting were 1,184,727 out of a total of 1,713,375 outstanding shares or 69.1% excluding broker non-votes.

The director election results, for the one Class A director whose term expires in 2017, were as follows: For Withheld Michael A. Turner 1,002,323 19,253

The appointment of Yount, Hyde, & Barbour, P.C. as MainStreet's independent registered public accounting firm for the year ending December 31, 2014 was also ratified at the Annual Shareholders' Meeting. Shares voted for the ratification were 1,174,574, shares votes against were 1,510, and shares abstained were 8,643.

For more stories on investments and markets, please see HispanicBusiness' Finance Channel

Source: Edgar Glimpses

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters