News Column

One Month After Disaster: Federal Aid for Alabama Disaster Tops $20 Million

May 30, 2014

MONTGOMERY, Ala., May 30 -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security'sFederal Emergency Management Agency issued the following news release:

More than $14 million has been approved through FEMA's Individuals and Households Program. The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved more than $5 million through its low-interest disaster loan program.

The following numbers, compiled May 29, provide a snapshot of the Alabama/FEMA disaster recovery to date:

Funds approved

$12.2 million for Housing Assistance grants to help with recovery rental expenses and home repair costs.

$2.5 million for Other Needs Assistance to cover essential disaster-related needs, such as medical expenses and lost personal possessions.

$5.4 million approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration for low-interest loans to eligible homeowners, renters or business owners. Survivor recovery

9,968 of the 10,464 damaged homes and property have been inspected (95 percent of requests).

3,285 visits have been made to the eight disaster recovery centers located in designated counties.

9 counties designated for Individual Assistance.

FEMA works with many volunteer agencies and the private sector to speed the recovery effort. Those affected by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding need to register with FEMA for disaster assistance.

No matter the degree of loss or insurance status, survivors are urged to apply for help. They can use the following methods:

By phone, call 800-621-3662 (FEMA) from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time.

Operators are multilingual. TTY 800-462-7585.

By computer, go online to

By smartphone or tablet, use

County-by-County approved breakdown of Individual Assistance:

Click here ( to view table.

Recovery officials urge all Alabama residents who have registered for assistance to stay in close contact with FEMA throughout the recovery process. This is especially true during the first weeks after registering when FEMA housing inspectors must contact applicants to view damages. Those with mobile phones should provide that number to FEMA during the registration.

Affected survivors and business owners in the nine designated counties may apply for assistance. Those counties are: Baldwin, Blount, DeKalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lee, Limestone, Mobile and Tuscaloosa.

Alabama/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers are located in Baldwin, Blount, Jefferson, Limestone, Mobile and Tuscaloosa counties. These centers are open Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

The DRC in Blount County will close Saturday, May 31 at 6 p.m. The Tuscaloosa DRC will transition from a DRC as of 6 p.m. Saturday, May 31, to a Disaster Loan Outreach Center with hours of 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday.

The deadline to register is Tuesday, July 1.

TNS 30VianaGem - 140531-4753202 30VianaGem

For more stories on investments and markets, please see HispanicBusiness' Finance Channel

Source: Targeted News Service

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters