News Column

Federal Aid for Alabama Disaster Tops $12 Million

May 23, 2014

MONTGOMERY, Ala., May 23 -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security'sFederal Emergency Management Agency issued the following news release:

More than $12 million has been approved through FEMA's Individuals and Households Program. The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved more than $3 million through its low-interest disaster loan program.

The following numbers, compiled May 23, provide a snapshot of the Alabama/FEMA disaster recovery to date:

Funds approved

$10.3 million for Housing Assistance grants to help with recovery rental expenses and home repair costs.

$2 million for Other Needs Assistance to cover essential disaster-related needs, such as medical expenses and lost personal possessions.

$3.4 million approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration for low-interest loans to eligible homeowners, renters or business owners. Survivor recovery

6,882 of the 7,899 damaged homes and property have been inspected (87 percent of requests).

2,990 visits have been made to the nine disaster recovery centers located in designated counties.

9 counties designated for Individual Assistance. FEMA works with many volunteer agencies and the private sector to speed the recovery effort. But those affected by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding need to register with FEMA for disaster aid.

No matter the degree of loss or insurance status, survivors are urged to apply for help. They can use the following methods:

By phone, call 800-621-3662 (FEMA) from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. Operators are multilingual. TTY 800-462-7585.

By computer, go online to

By smartphone or tablet, use

County-by-County approved breakdown of Individual Assistance: Click here ( to view table.

Recovery officials urge all Alabama residents who have registered for assistance to stay in close contact with FEMA throughout the recovery process. This is especially true during the first weeks after registering when FEMA housing inspectors must contact applicants to view damages. Those with mobile phones should provide that number to FEMA during the registration.

Affected survivors and business owners in the nine designated counties may apply for assistance. Those counties are: Baldwin, Blount, DeKalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lee, Limestone, Mobile and Tuscaloosa.

Alabama/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers are located in Baldwin, Blount, Jefferson, Limestone, Mobile and Tuscaloosa counties. These centers will be open Monday, Memorial Day, May 26, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. The DRC in Etowah County closes Saturday, May 24.

The deadline to register is Tuesday, July 1.

TNS 30VianaGem - 140524-4747034 30VianaGem

For more stories on investments and markets, please see HispanicBusiness' Finance Channel

Source: Targeted News Service

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters