News Column

ASCAP Honors Maria Schneider, Paola Prestini, James M. Kendrick, the American Composers Forum and John Nuechterlein at 15th Annual Concert Music...

May 22, 2014

ASCAP Honors Maria Schneider, Paola Prestini, James M. Kendrick, the American Composers Forum and John Nuechterlein at 15th Annual Concert Music Awards

NEW YORK, May 22 -- The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers issued the following news release:

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) held its 15th annual Concert Music Awards today at Merkin Concert Hall at the Kaufman Center in New York City. ASCAP member, composer, conductor and radio broadcast journalist Bill McGlaughlin hosted the invitation-only event, which recognized the achievements of ASCAP's 2014 Concert Music Honorees who represent the diverse aesthetic spectrum of the concert music world.

Among the evening's presenters were Douglas Geers, Jennifer Higdon, Lowell Liebermann, Tamar Muskal, John Nuechterlein, Robert Paterson, Alex Shapiro, Melinda Wagner and ASCAP's Paul Williams, John LoFrumento, Michael Spudic and Cia Toscanini.

The 2014 Concert Music Awards honorees are:

Maria Schneider

ASCAP salutes distinguished member Maria Schneider, who was awarded the 2014 Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Classical Composition for Winter Morning Walks, with a 2014 ASCAP Concert Music Award for her advocacy for American composers and musicians.

Paola Prestini, Founding Artistic Director, VisionIntoArt; Creative Director, Original Music Workshop (OMW); and Artistic Director, Black Ship

ASCAP presents the Victor Herbert Award to ASCAP member Paola Prestini for her musical achievements as composer, collaborator, impresario, educator and mentor.

James M. Kendrick, Esq.

ASCAP presents the Arnold Broido Award to ASCAP Board member James M. Kendrick for his dedicated service to American music as a champion of copyright and advocate for American composers and for his exemplary service to ASCAP as Director, Treasurer and Symphony & Concert Committee Co-Chair.

Frances Richard

The American Composers Forum presents Frances Richard with the Champion of New Music Award for her significant contributions to the work and livelihood of living composers.

American Composers Forum, John Nuechterlein, President and CEO

ASCAP honors the American Composers Forum and John Nuechterlein with a 2014 ASCAP Concert Music Award for distinguished service to American composers.

Presentation of the 2014 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards

The ASCAP Foundation program honors the late Pulitzer Prize-winning composer and former ASCAP Foundation President Morton Gould's lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators. Gould, an eminent and versatile American composer, was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. The award-winning composers share prizes of approximately $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor; the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger; and a grant from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund. Jack Norworth generously dedicated the royalties from his great standards "Shine on Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame" to benefit gifted, emerging composers. Award winners receive complimentary copies of Sibelius notation software, generously donated by Avid, the company that creates technology used to make the most listened to, most watched and most loved music and media in the world.

The 2014 Morton Gould Young Composer Award winners are listed with their current residence and place of origin: Katherine Balch of Boston, MA (San Diego, CA); Matthew Browne of Ann Arbor, MI (Monument, CO); Jason Thorpe Buchanan of Rochester, NY (San Mateo, CA); Christopher Cerrone of Brooklyn, NY (Huntington, NY); Alex Dowling of Princeton, NJ (Dublin, Ireland); Cody W. Forrest of Brighton, MA (Guymon, OK); Peng-Peng Gong of New York, NY (Nanjing, China); Eric Guinivan of Harrisonburg, VA (Wilmington, DE); Takuma Itoh of Honolulu, HI (Japan); John Liberatore of Olean, NY (Auburn, NY); Alexander Liebermann of New York, NY (Berlin, Germany); Benjamin Morris of Coral Gables, FL (New York, NY); Garth Neustadter of Pasadena, CA (Green Bay, WI); Emma O'Halloran of Princeton, NJ (Ireland); Brendon Randall-Myers of New Haven, CT (Northampton, MA); Sarah Rimkus of Los Angeles, CA (Bainbridge Island, WA); Daniel Schlosberg of New Haven, CT (Merion Station, PA); and Gabriella Smith of Princeton, NJ (Berkeley, CA).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer Award recipients range in age from 10 to 17 and are listed by state of residence: Graham Cohen, age 15 (NJ); Tengku Irfan, age 15 (NY); Rory Lipkis, age 17 (PA); Jonah M.K. Murphy, age 14 (NY); Shashaank Narayanan, age 10 (NY); J.P. Redmond, age 14 (NY); Karalyn Schubring, age 15 (AZ); Renata Vallecillo, age 14 (AZ); and Benjamin P. Wenzelberg, age 14 (NJ).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Corey Cunningham of Austin, TX (Davenport, IA); Michael-Thomas Foumai of Ann Arbor, MI (Honolulu, HI); Benjamin Krause of Houston, TX (Carlsbad, CA); Michael Kropf of Wilton, CT (Danbury, CT); Wesley Levers of Evanston, IL (Boston, MA); and Geoffrey Sheil of College Park, MD (Dublin, Ireland).

Honorable Mention in the youngest category: Rachel Kuznetsov, age 13 (MA); Michael D. Parsons, age 17 (NJ); Avik Sarkar, age 13 (MA); and Rubin Zou, age 11 (NH).

The 2014 ASCAP composer/judges were: Daniel Felsenfeld, Douglas Geers, David Lang, Lowell Liebermann, James Matheson, Tamar Muskal, Robert Paterson, and Melinda Wagner.

For more information on the 15th annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards, click here (

[Category: Arts/Culture]

CC AutoTriage10PkS-140523-30TacordaCheng-4744382 30TacordaCheng

For more stories covering arts and entertainment, please see HispanicBusiness' Arts & Entertainment Channel

Source: Targeted News Service

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters