News Column

Twitter Now Allows Users to 'Mute' Certain Users

May 12, 2014

UPI Business News

Twitter has introduced a 'mute' function to block tweets and retweets. (file photo)
Twitter has introduced a 'mute' function to block tweets and retweets. (file photo)

Twitter will enable the "mute" function, blocking tweets and retweets from certain users while still appearing on their follower list.

The micro-blogging site says this will help users better control the content that is visible on their timeline. The feature will begin to roll out Monday and will be available to all users within the next few weeks.

"Muting a user on Twitter means their tweets and retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user," Twitter explains.

The mute feature will be available to users on Android and iOS devices as well as those who use the site from a computer.

Muting someone will be private and is reversible at any time. In the past, third-party apps, like Tweetbot, allowed users to mute others as well as specific hashtags and keywords.

Original headline: Twitter now allows users to 'mute' certain users


For more stories covering the world of technology, please see HispanicBusiness' Tech Channel



Source: Copyright 2014 United Press International, Inc. (UPI). Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.


Story Tools






HispanicBusiness.com Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters