News Column

Epping Forest Visitor Centres in Awards Win

February 3, 2014

LONDON , Feb. 3 -- The city of London issued the following news release: All three of the City of London Corporation's Epping Forest visitor centres have received the prestigious 'VAQAS' (Visitor Attraction Quality Assurance Scheme) award. VAQAS - which rates the quality of facilities and overall visitor experience - is the quality marque of Visit England , and is recognisable by the Tudor rose logo. Heritage Lottery -funded, 'The View', on Rangers Road , Chingford, was praised for its "friendly staff", "very good" exhibitions and high standard of cleanliness. Next door, Tudor era Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge was described as a "relaxing place for children to learn and engage with history" and singled out for its "warm, welcoming atmosphere". And the Temple in Wanstead Park , with its "attentive staff", "pleasant, welcoming atmosphere" and "attractive arrivals hall" was rated overall as "a very good quality experience". The Hunting Lodge receives the award for the fourth year running, The View receives the award for the first year and The Temple receives its second award. Antony Fenwick , the City of London Corporation's Head of Visitor Services at Epping Forest , said: "We're really pleased to have been awarded VAQAS at all of our visitor centres. It's great to receive this level of recognition from Visit England and we are delighted that our visitors are receiving such a high standard of customer service and overall visitor experience." The View - Epping Forest's new flagship visitor centre - attracted 50,000 visits during its first full year in operation, after it was officially opened by honorary 'Official Ranger' of Epping Forest , the Duke of Gloucester in July 2012 . And the Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge , which was built for Henry VIII in 1543, is a remarkable and rare survivor from the Tudor era. Both these visitor centres are also Green Tourism Business Scheme (GTBS) winners for their environmental design and quality visitor experience. The Temple, in Wanstead Park , is a grade II historic building with a classical portico, dating from the 1760s. It was built as a fashionable garden feature by John Child , Earl Tylney, and like the Grotto of similar date, was designed to enhance the elaborate landscaped gardens of Wanstead House. It first appears on a 1777 map labelled as the Pheasant House and was later used as accommodation for Epping Forest Keepers on the estate. CC AutoTriage1pm-140204-30TagarumaMar-4624091 30TagarumaMar


For more stories covering arts and entertainment, please see HispanicBusiness' Arts & Entertainment Channel



Source: Targeted News Service


Story Tools