News Column

Wisconsin Aviation Art Contest Winners Advance to National Event

February 14, 2014

MADISON, Wis., Feb. 14 -- The Wisconsin Department of Transportation issued the following news release:

Nine young people from around the state won top honors in this year's poster design contest sponsored by the Wisconsin Bureau of Aeronautics, in the Department of Transportation. The top three entries, in three different age groups, now advance to the National Aviation Art Contest for judging in Washington, D.C.

Junior Category (ages 6 to 9)

First place: Seth Carlson, Oshkosh

Second place: Lydia Moffitt, Winneconne

Third place: Harry Schneider, Plymouth

Intermediate Category (ages 10 to 13)

First place: Emma Andersen, Sheboygan

Second place: Edie Redwine, Milwaukee

Third place: Erika Pulukchu, DePere

Senior Category (ages 14 to 17)

First place: Tracy Van Meter, Nekoosa

Second place: Maddy Van DeHey, DePere

Third place: Lauryn Wiorek, Hales Corners

First place winners have the option of selecting a $100 art supply gift certificate or an airplane ride for two as their prize. Second and third place winners receive a $75 and $50 art supply gift certificate, respectively.

The Wisconsin winning works of art will be judged with entries from across the country in the three age groups. The first, second and third place national winners, in each age group, will receive a certificate, ribbon and framed reproduction of their artwork. In addition, they will advance to the international competition for worldwide judging in Switzerland.

New this year, one poster in each category received an honorable mention from the Bureau of Aeronautics. That recognition goes to: Marlayna Gonnering of Oshkosh; Kathy Bierhals of Gillett; and Paul Salsieder of Muskego.

The winning posters may be viewed on WisDOT's website (

CC AutoTriage4psi-140215-3030VitinMar-4639569

For more stories covering arts and entertainment, please see HispanicBusiness' Arts & Entertainment Channel

Source: Targeted News Service

Story Tools