News Column

Corbett Administration Awards Grant in Western Pennsylvania for Business Growth Promotion

January 28, 2014

HARRISBURG, Pa. , Jan. 28 -- The Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development issued the following news release: Department of Community and Economic Development Secretary C. Alan Walker recently announced that the Mon Valley Progress Council will receive a $50,000 Keystone Communities grant that will help the council promote the region's Enterprise Zone . " Governor Corbett remains committed to supporting community initiatives that bring the private and public sectors together to create jobs for Pennsylvanians," said Walker. " This Keystone Community grant will ensure that the region continues to attract businesses into Fayette , Washington and Westmoreland counties, areas prime for growth and development." The Keystone Communities program will assist in successfully promoting the regional Enterprise Zone in order to continue to advance major expansion projects which include significant job creation and retention. Recent successful projects attracted through the Enterprise Zone have brought an investment of nearly $65 million and 505 new jobs to the area. Enterprise Zones work to revitalize disadvantaged industrial and commercial areas, including but not limited to brownfields, vacant urban business parks and blighted commercial areas. This program promotes regional and county-wide efforts to improve business opportunities, by expanding existing businesses and promoting location of new businesses in these areas. The supported activities include developing strategies to attract and retain businesses and loan assistance for businesses. This work ultimately should restore the tax base in these disadvantaged locations. The Enterprise Zones will result in local governments that are more financially sustainable and will improve the quality of life in the designated communities. The participating zone communities include the Boroughs of Brownsville and Belle Vernon in Fayette County , the Boroughs of California , Charleroi , Donora , North Charleroi , Speers and Monongahela City in Washington County , and the City of Monessen in Westmoreland County . "I support this initiative by the Corbett administration and all the work the Mon Valley Progress Council has done to promote, develop and sustain economic growth in the region," said Sen. Solobay . The Keystone Communities program was created in 2011 to assist state communities in achieving revitalization. The program supports physical improvements to both designated and other communities that are undertaking revitalization to restore deteriorated downtowns, residential neighborhoods and industrial/manufacturing sites. For more information about the Keystone Communities program and other community development initiatives visit www.newPA.comor call 1-866-466-3972. CC AutoTriage10PkS-140129-30TacordaCheng-4618146 30TacordaCheng

For more stories on investments and markets, please see HispanicBusiness' Finance Channel

Source: Targeted News Service

Story Tools