News Column

Half of G20 Countries Join U.S. in Syria Statement

September 6, 2013

Ten nations joined the United States in a joint statement Friday condemning the use of chemical weapons by the Syrian regime and said they support international efforts to enforce the prohibition against their use.

"We call for a strong international response to this grave violation of the world's rules and conscience that will send a clear message that this kind of atrocity can never be repeated. Those who perpetrated these crimes must be held accountable," Australia, Britain, Canada, France, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Turkey and the United States declared.

The nations said they "support efforts undertaken by the United States and other countries to reinforce the prohibition on the use of chemical weapons," but the declaration did not specifically endorse a military response or commit them to aid or support a US-led strike.

European nations agreed they would continue to work toward a common agreement.

Source: Copyright Deutsche Presse-Agentur ??? Engl 2013

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters