News Column

Deutsche Bahn and Bombardier Sign Vehicle Contract Worth 216 Million Euro

Aug 29 2013 12:00AM

Marketwire

LogoTracker

BERLIN, GERMANY -- (Marketwired) -- 08/29/13 -- Deutsche Bahn AG has ordered 18 electric double-deck multiple units from Bombardier Transportation for regional transport in Germany. The order is valued at approximately 216 million euro ($289 million US). The new trains will operate from December 2016 on the lines Augsburg - Treuchtlingen - Nuremberg and Treuchtlingen - Ingolstadt - Munich.

Dr. Rudiger Grube, Chairman of Deutsche Bahn, said: "Our consistent investments in new rail vehicles clearly show that we are strengthening our company for the future requirements of the transport markets."

Dr. Lutz Bertling, President, Bombardier Transportation, added: "Our modern and environmentally friendly BOMBARDIER TWINDEXX Vario trains can be flexibly adapted to passenger volumes. This is how our trains create value for our customer Deutsche Bahn and contribute significantly to effective regional transportation."

The three new four-car and 15 new six-car TWINDEXX Vario double-deck multiple units of the generation Do2010 each comprise two power cars with two or four intermediate cars. They can reach speeds of up to 160 km/h. Particular attention has been paid to attractive facilities for passengers, such as comfortable legroom between seats, wide doors and lots of storage space.

The contract with Bombardier is a call-off under a framework agreement from 2008. The total number of variable double-deck cars ordered under the agreement now stands at 392.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montreal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2012, we posted revenues of $16.8 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, TWINDEXX and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223

John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France, Benelux and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714

Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Par Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa and Middle East: +49 30 98607 1147

Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728

Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com

UK: +44 7785 450 065

Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com



Contacts:
Bombardier Transportation
www.theclimateisrightfortrains.com





Source: Marketwire


Story Tools






HispanicBusiness.com Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters