News Column

British Line of Succession: Who Wins the Game of Thrones

July 22, 2013

The baby born to the duke and duchess of Cambridge, William and Kate, would for the first time automatically become third in line to the British throne regardless of its sex.

The new succession law, which received royal assent in April, also decrees that heirs would no longer lose their place if they marry a Roman Catholic. Here is the current order of succession:

1. Prince of Wales (Prince Charles)
2. Duke of Cambridge (Prince William)
3. Prince or princess of Cambridge
4. Prince Henry of Wales (Prince Harry)
5. Duke of York
6. Princess Beatrice of York
7. Princess Eugenie of York
8. Earl of Wessex
9. Viscount Severn
10. Lady Louise Mountbatten-Windsor
11. Princess royal
12. Peter Phillips
13. Savannah Phillips
14. Isla Phillips
15. Zara Phillips
16. Viscount Linley
17. Charles Armstrong-Jones
18. Margarita Armstrong-Jones
19. Lady Sarah Chatto
20. Samuel Chatto

Source: Copyright 2013 dpa Deutsche Presse-Agentur GmbH

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters