News Column

Bombardier Transportation Wins Large Order: Deutsche Bahn Signs Frame Agreement for Delivery of Up to 450 Locomotives

Jun 18 2013 12:00AM

Marketwire

LogoTracker

BERLIN, GERMANY -- (Marketwired) -- 06/18/13 -- Bombardier Transportation and Deutsche Bahn AG (DB) have signed a frame contract for the delivery of electric locomotives. The total potential contract value is up to 1.5 billion euro ($2 billion US) and includes options for the call-off of up to 450 locomotives by the year 2020. The first call-off of 110 locomotives for DB Schenker Rail and 20 for DB Regio was exercised on June 17, 2013. Based on the list price, the value of 130 locomotives would be 430 million euro ($573 million US). The frame agreement allows for numerous variations and technical options.

DB's locomotive fleet already includes more than 700 TRAXX locomotives that have delivered freight and passenger transport successfully for more than 10 years. The locomotives in the frame contract represent a further development of the TRAXX locomotive platform already proven in operation. They fulfil the newest European norms and technical standards.

Thanks to its modular construction and equipment with various country packages, the TRAXX platform concept also enables flexible operation in neighbouring European countries. The locomotives are characterized by low life cycle costs and high energy efficiency.

The locomotives are designed for speeds of up to 160 km/h. On request, they can be equipped with "Last Mile" functionality that allows, for example, freight operation of an electric locomotive on non-electrified routes. This increases the efficiency of rail traffic and makes new logistic concepts possible.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montreal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2012, we posted revenues of $16.8 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, TRAXX and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223

John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France, Benelux and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714

Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Par Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa, Turkey and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147

Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728

Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com

UK and Middle East: +44 7785 450 065

Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com



Contacts:
Bombardier Transportation
www.theclimateisrightfortrains.com





Source: Marketwire


Story Tools






HispanicBusiness.com Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters