News Column

Many choices on Santa Fe Bandstand 2013 schedule

May 5, 2013

YellowBrix

May 05--The 2013 Santa Fe Bandstand free music series on the Santa Fe Plaza will feature 89 performances during an expanded, nine-week schedule this summer.

Here is a complete listing of the diverse performers scheduled to appear in the concert series, brought to you with the help of various local sponsors by Outside In Productions:

Friday, June 21

--6 p.m.: Ivon Ulibarri & Cafe Mocha, Albuquerque salsa band

--7:15 p.m.: Son Como Son, Albuquerque salsa band

Monday, June 24

--6 p.m.: The Barefoot Movement, folk/bluegrass Americana from Johnson City, Tenn.

--7:15 p.m.: The Dunwells, Indie band from Leeds, England

Tuesday, June 25

--6 p.m.: Shannon McNally, Americana singer-songwriter

--7:15 p.m.: Eliza Gilkyson, Americana singer-songwriter returns to Santa Fe from Austin, Texas

Wednesday, June 26

--6 p.m.: Sorela, Hispanic pop from a pair of Albuquerque sisters

--7:15 p.m.: Sol Fire, Santa Fe Hispanic rock group

Thursday, June 27

--6 p.m.: Todd & The Fox, Indie dance-oriented music written by Todd Lovato on banjo

--7:15 p.m.: John Courage & The Great Plains: Indie band

Monday, July 1

--Noon: Eaglestar, folk, Michael Combs with his daughter Beth

--6 p.m.: Strolling Scones, oldies, classic '60s pop and psychedelica

--7:15 p.m.: The Wise Guys, oldies. Think Beatles hits, blues, country and some rancheras

Tuesday, July 2

--6 p.m.: Funktasm with Little Leroy, local funk band.

--7:15 p.m.: Yo Mama's Big Fat Booty Band, funk, from Asheville, N.C.

Monday, July 8

--Noon: Polyphony Marimba, Santa Fe-based world-marimba ensemble

--6 p.m.: Simon Blakley & The Honkey Tonk Crew, country

--7:15 p.m.: James "Slim" Hand, country

Tuesday, July 9

--6 p.m.: Cali Shaw, Indie rock, singer-songwriter

--7:15 p.m.: Alex Maryol, Indie/blues/rock, Santa Fe's own

Wednesday, July 10

--Noon: T.B.A.

--6 p.m.: Mariachi Aztlan, mariachi

--7:15 p.m.: Severo y Grupo Fuego, Hispanic with cumbia flavor

Thursday, July 11

--6 p.m.: Cloacas, Indie, with elements of folk, Americana, classical and American gothic

--Intermission: Sage Harrington, Indie, silly songs on ukulele

--7:30 p.m.: A Hawk and A Hacksaw, Indie/world, fusion of folk styles

Saturday, July 13

--6 p.m.: Suzanne Teng & Mystic Journey (featuring Gilbert Levy), world.

--Intermission: Azadeh Dance Company

--7:30 p.m.: Wagogo, world, with strong dose of Zimbabwean mbira, roots music from the islands and New Mexican.

Monday, July 15

--Noon: Floozy, Americana, classical, pop, flamenco, rock, folk, soul from an Albuquerque trio

--6 p.m.: Busy & The Krazy 88!, "Hipster Pop," Busy McCarroll's latest incarnation

--7:15 p.m.: JQ Whitcomb, jazz, Santa Fe trumpeter and composer

Tuesday, July 16

--6 p.m.: Anthony Leon & The Chain, country/rock

--7:15 p.m.: Hoodoos, rock/blues. Billy Desmond returns from Portland, Ore.

Wednesday, July 17

--Noon: Blue Moon Prairie, country trio

--6 p.m.: Felix y Los Gatos, zydeco band from Albuquerque

--7:15 p.m.: Curley Taylor, zydeco from Sunset, La.

Thursday, July 18

--6 p.m.: The Gregg Daigle Band, Americana, equal parts Duane Allman and Bela Fleck

--7:15 p.m.: The Free Range Ramblers, Americana

Monday, July 22

--Noon: Clan Tynker, family circus. Siblings performing whimsical "Old World/Vaudeville" entertainment

--6 p.m.: Ryan Christopher Montano, jazz trumpeter

--7:15 p.m.: Max Baca y Los Texmaniacs, Tex-Mex conjunto

Tuesday, July 23

--6 p.m.: The Mil-Tones, jazz, New Orleans second-line brass band.

--7:15 p.m.: Larry Mitchell, jazz/rock guitarist.

Wednesday, July 24

--Noon: The Railyard Reunion Band

--6 p.m. Baile Espanol, Hispanic children's dance group

--7:15 p.m.: Manzanares, nuevo Latino, led by Abiquiu-born brothers David and Michael Manzanares

Thursday, July 25

--6 p.m.: hONEey house, Indie

--7:15 p.m.: Jay Boy Adams and Zenobia, R&B

Monday, July 29

--Noon: Fiddlin' Doc Gonzales, country/Hispanic

--6 p.m.: Lipbone Redding, Indie, noted for his ability to imitate brass instruments

--7:15 p.m.: Round Mountain, Americana duo, brothers Char and Robbie Rothschild

Tuesday, July 30

--6 p.m.: Treemotel, Indie

--7:15 p.m. Jupiter Spiral, Indie, with psych and post-rock influences

Wednesday, July 31

--Noon: La Familia Vigil, classic Northern New Mexico, Cipriano Vigil, son Cipriano Jr. and daughter Felicita

--6 p.m.: Mariachi Buenaventura, New Mexico's only all-female mariachi band

--7:15 p.m.: Lumbre del Sol, Santa Fe's Chicano rock band for four decades

Thursday, Aug. 1

--6 p.m.: John Trentacosta & Straight Up, Santa Fe jazz group

--7:30 p.m.: Bert Dalton's Brazil Project, blend of traditional, contemporary and Brazilian jazz

Monday, Aug. 5

--Noon: Santa Fe University of Art and Design Contemporary Ensemble, Americana

--6 p.m.: Bill Hearne, Santa Fe's flat-pickin' country/folk singer.

--7:15 p.m.: Cathy Faber's Swingin' Country Band, country.

Tuesday, Aug. 6

--6 p.m.: The Canyon Road Blues Band, blues/R&B

--7:15 p.m.: Soulstatic, Tony Buford-led funk/R&B

Wednesday, Aug. 7

--6 p.m. Tiho Dimitrov, blues/rock

--Intermission: The Candyman's "School of Rock" Band, Santa Fe's future rock stars

--7:15 p.m.: Max Gomez, Indie/folk, from Taos

Thursday, Aug. 8

--6 p.m.: Matthew Andrae, New Mexico classic, from Santa Fe

--7:30 p.m.: Joe West and The Santa Fe Revue, Americana

Friday, Aug. 9

--6 p.m.: Little Bird & The Big Boy Band, country

--7:15 p.m.: The Derailers, Country band from Austin, Texas

Monday, Aug. 12

--6 p.m. Nation Beat, world, Brooklyn-based collective

--7:15 p.m. Nacao Estrela Brilhante, one of Brazil's oldest traditional maracatu groups, from Recife

Tuesday, Aug. 13

--6 p.m.: Nosotros, salsa

--7:15 p.m.: DJ P.A. Trix, live salsa dance party with latest sounds from Cuba

Wednesday, Aug. 14

--6 p.m.: Indigie Femme, Native American

--7:15 p.m.: Robert Mirabal, Taos flutist kicks off Indian Market weekend

Monday, Aug. 19

--6 p.m.: Man No Sober, Indie rock

--7:15 p.m.: The Pleasure Pilots Band, Santa Fe-based R&B/blues band

Tuesday, Aug. 20

--6 p.m.: Broomdust Caravan, juke joint, honky tonk, biker bar rock and roll, from Santa Fe

--7:15 p.m.: Jimmy Stadler, blues/rock, from Taos

Wednesday, Aug. 21

--6 p.m.: Terri Hendrix & Lloyd Maines, Americana, from Texas

--7:15 p.m.: Christina Herr & Wild Frontier, Americana, from Albuquerque

Thursday, Aug. 22

--6 p.m.: Radio La Chamusa, reggae/world, from El Paso

--7:30 p.m.: The Imperial Rooster, Indie/country/rock, gonzo roots music from Espanola

Friday, Aug. 23

--6 p.m.: Boris McCutcheon, Americana, singer-songwriter plays guitar, harmonica and mandolin

--7:15 p.m.: Jono Manson, gravelly-voiced Americana/rock, from Santa Fe

___

(c)2013 The Santa Fe New Mexican (Santa Fe, N.M.)

Visit The Santa Fe New Mexican (Santa Fe, N.M.) at www.santafenewmexican.com

Distributed by MCT Information Services

A service of YellowBrix, Inc.


For more stories covering arts and entertainment, please see HispanicBusiness' Arts & Entertainment Channel



Source: YellowBrix_Entertainment


Story Tools