News Column

New Federal Electoral Map for Quebec Tabled in the House of Commons

Feb 25 2013 12:00AM



MONTREAL, QUEBEC -- (Marketwire) -- 02/25/13 -- The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Quebec has submitted its report redrawing the province's federal electoral map to the Chief Electoral Officer of Canada. The report was tabled in the House of Commons today.

In follow-up to the public hearings that took place between September 5 and November 14, 2012, changes are being made to 64 of the 75 existing electoral districts. In addition, three new electoral districts are being created in the province: Chateauguay-Lacolle, Terrebonne and Mirabel.

"In attempting to bring the direction of our mandate in line with the preferences expressed by speakers at the public hearings or contained in the documents addressed to us, we chose to harmonize the objectives of equitable representation with those of effective representation," said the Honourable Jules Allard, chair of the three-member commission.

To consult the report, visit

Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Quebec
1-855-726-4111 (toll free)
1-855-726-4112 (toll free) (FAX)

Source: Marketwire

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters