News Column

San Antonio Hispanic Chamber Gets New Leaders

December 30, 2013

Staff Reports --

Patrick Pliego Stout will serve as chair of the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber in 2014.
Patrick Pliego Stout will serve as chair of the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber in 2014.

The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce begins 2014 with a new chairwoman and a board of directors to lead the 85-year-old organization.

Patricia Pliego Stout, president and founder of the Alamo Travel Group, takes over for Alexander E. Briseno of St. Mary's University, who served as chairman for the past year. The Chamber provides business assistance, resources, marketing and networking opportunities for its members.

"As a collective group, the 2014 board of directors have the big-picture passions and expertise to keep our 85-year-old organization moving in the right direction," Pliego said in a press release. "As the 2014 Chair I'm committed to ensuring that this timeless organization will continue to fulfill its mission to advocate for the best interests of San Antonio's business owners."

Ramiro Cavazos, president and CEO of the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, said the organization is well positioned to help its members. The Chamber has 15 committees that work on areas of concern for small businesses from economic and leadership development to innovation and technology.

"I know that this powerful group of business leaders will make positive waves throughout our great City of San Antonio by improving the resources and services needed to help grow our most powerful asset, our member businesses," Cavazos said.

Members of the Chamber's 2014 executive board and the companies they are affiliated with include:

Patricia Pliego Stout (Alamo Travel Group), Alexander E/ Briseno (St. Mary's University), Jorge Herrera (The Herrera Law Firm), Erika Prosper Nirenberg (H-E-B), Ramiro Cavazos (Hispanic Chamber of Commerce), John Gonzalez (JDG Associates), Sergio Contreras (AT&T), Willie Ng (Blue Armor Security), Shannon Gonzalez (Shannon Gonzalez Integra), Noah Garcia (Vantage Bank).

Joel Perez (Padgett Stratemann), Roberto Espinosa (Northwest Mutual), Christann Vasquez (University Health System), Dr. Rudy Reyna (UTSA), Dr. Mike Flores (Alamo Colleges), John Agather (Keller Williams), Lionel Sosa (Sosa & Sosa), Linda Rivas (SER Jobs for Progress), Dr. Federico Zaragoza (Alamo Colleges).

Rosa Santana Navarro (Integrated Human Capital), Lena Camarillo (Poznecki-Camarillo), Manny Pelaez (Pelaez Prada LLC), Frances Schultschik (Schultschik Marketing), Chad Taylor (Hotel Valencia), Zaida Saliba (BBVA Compass), Alberto Sandoval (Rackspace), Charlie Gonzalez (VIA Transit Authority) and Don Gonzales (Estrada Hinojosa).

The new leadership for the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce will be honored at the Chamber's 85th annual gala on Jan. 25 at the J.W. Marriott Resort.

Source: (c) 2013. All rights reserved.

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters