News Column

DNC 2012 List of Speakers

Sept. 4, 2012

San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro
San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro

The 2012 Democratic National Convention kicks off today, Sept. 4, at the Time Warner Cable Arena in Charlotte, N.C. There are a number of speakers voters are eager to hear, including San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro, who will be the first Latino keynote speaker at a Democratic National Convention.

On the third day of the DNC, President Obama and Vice President Biden will accept the Democratic nominations for president and vice president at Bank of America Stadium.

Here is a complete list of the DNC Speakers, according to

Congresswoman Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin

Congressman Xavier Becerra of California

Newark Mayor Cory Booker

Elaine Brye

Congressman G.K. Butterfield of North Carolina

Former President Jimmy Carter (via video)

Ryan Case

State Representative Joaquin Castro of Texas

San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro

Rhode Island Governor Lincoln Chafee

Congresswoman Judy Chu of California

Maria Ciano

Congressman Emanuel Cleaver of Missouri

Former President Bill Clinton

Congressman James Clyburn of South Carolina

Former Republican Governor of Florida Charlie Crist

Congressman Elijah Cummings of Maryland

Lieutenant Governor of North Carolina Walter Dalton

Nate Davis

The Honorable Arne Duncan

Congresswoman Diana DeGette of Colorado

Former Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Tammy Duckworth

U.S. Senator Dick Durbin of Illinois

Congresswoman Donna Edwards of Maryland

Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel

Georgetown Law School Graduate Sandra Fluke

Charlotte Mayor Anthony Foxx

Congressman Barney Frank of Massachusetts

Congresswoman Marcia Fudge of Ohio

Former Charlotte Mayor Harvey Gantt

Former Michigan Governor Jennifer Granholm

Congressman Charlie Gonzalez of Texas

Congressman Al Green of Texas

Congressman Luis Gutierrez of Illinois

U.S. Senator Kay Hagan of North Carolina

California Attorney General Kamala D. Harris

International President of the Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Mary Kay Henry

Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper

Congressman Steny Hoyer of Maryland

Former Governor of North Carolina Jim Hunt

DCCC Chairman Congressman Steve Israel of New York

Montana State Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau

Former Virginia Governor Tim Kaine

Chief Executive Officer of the Democratic National Convention Committee Stephen J. Kerrigan

United Auto Workers President Bob King

Congressman John Larson of Connecticut

Congresswoman Barbara Lee of California

Congressman John Lewis of Georgia

Secretary of the Democratic National Committee Alice Germond

CarMax co-founder and former CEO Austin Ligon

Stacey Lihn

President of NARAL Pro-Choice America Nancy Keenan

Caroline Kennedy

Lieutenant General Claudia Kennedy (ret.)

Candidate for the US House of Representatives Joe Kennedy III

U.S. Senator John Kerry of Massachusetts

Women's rights activist Lilly Ledbetter

Obama Campaign Co-Chair Eva Longoria

Connecticut Governor Dannel Malloy

Delaware Governor Jack Markell

Boston Mayor Tom Menino

The Honorable Karen Mills

U.S. Senator Patty Murray of Washington

Admiral John Nathman

Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter

U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski of Maryland, together with the women of the U.S. Senate

Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley

Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi will also lead a presentation of the women of the House:
Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro of Connecticut
Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney of New York
Congresswoman Nydia Velazquez of New York
Congresswoman Gwen Moore of Wisconsin
Congresswoman Allyson Schwartz of Pennsylvania
Congresswoman Donna Edwards of Maryland
Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives Joyce Beatty of Ohio
Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives Tulsi Gabbard of Hawaii

Actor/Producer and Former Associate Director of the White House Office of Public Engagement Kal Penn

Governor of North Carolina Bev Perdue

California Assembly Speaker John A. Pérez

Congressman Jared Polis of Colorado

Congressman David Price of North Carolina

Illinois Governor Pat Quinn

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid of Nevada

President of Planned Parenthood Action Fund Cecile Richards

Brother of the First Lady Craig Robinson

Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak

The Honorable Ken Salazar

College Democrats of America President Alejandra Salinas

Journalist Cristina Saralegui

U.S. Senator Charles Schumer of New York

Montana Governor Brian Schweitzer

The Honorable Kathleen Sebelius

Costco co-founder and former CEO Jim Sinegal

Sister of the President Maya Soetoro-ng

Ohio firefighter Doug Stern

Former Ohio Governor Ted Strickland

Treasurer of the Democratic National Committee Andrew Tobias

AFL-CIO President Rich Trumka

Congressman Chris Van Hollen

Congresswoman Nydia M. Velázquez

Los Angeles Mayor, Democratic Convention Chair Antonio Villaraigosa

The Honorable Tom Vilsack

Senate candidate from Massachusetts Elizabeth Warren

DNC Chair Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz of Florida

Congressman Mel Watt of North Carolina

Former Congressman Robert Wexler

Source: (c) 2012. All rights reserved.

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters