News Column

'The Hobbit' Trilogy Release Dates, Titles Revealed

Sept. 1, 2012

the hobbit, peter jackson, release dates

Director Peter Jackson's pending trilogy of movies based on "The Hobbit" now all have titles and release schedules, revealed Warner Bros Pictures and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures on Friday. Based on J.R.R. Tolkien's book, "The Hobbit," the three pending films take place about 60 years before the events of Jackson's lauded Lord of the Rings movie trilogy. The three 'Hobbit' films are New Line Cinema and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures productions. The titles and schedules are:

-- 'The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey,' is scheduled for December 14, 2012.
-- 'The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug,' is scheduled for December 13, 2013.
-- 'The Hobbit: There and Back Again,' is scheduled for July 18, 2014.

Source: (c) 2012. All rights reserved.

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters