News Column

Pulitzer Prize Winners of Journalism Announced, Includes Politico Cartoonist

April 16, 2012


Pulitzer Prize

Today, the 96th annual Pulitzer Prizes in journalism were awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board. Today's announcement was made by Columbia University.

Publications include The New York Times, POLITICO, The Denver Post and The Seattle Times .

The Pulitzer Prize is a U.S. award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition. It was established by American (Hungarian-born) publisher Joseph Pulitzer in 1917 and is administered by Columbia University.

Here are the 2012 winners:

Public Service: The Philadelphia Inquirer The publication won for its exploration of pervasive violence in the city's schools, using powerful print narratives and videos to illuminate crimes committed by children against children and to stir reforms to improve safety for teachers and students.

Breaking News Reporting: The Tuscaloosa (Ala.) The Tuscaloosa (Ala.) news staff won for its coverage of a deadly tornado, using social media as well as traditional reporting to provide real-time updates, help locate missing people and produce in-depth print accounts even after power disruption forced the paper to publish at another plant 50 miles away.

News Staff Investigative Reporting: Matt Apuzzo, Adam Goldman, Eileen Sullivan and Chris Hawley of the Associated Press and Michael J. Berens and Ken Armstrong of The Seattle Times.

Awarded to Matt Apuzzo, Adam Goldman, Eileen Sullivan and Chris Hawley of the Associated Press for their spotlighting of the New York Police Department's clandestine spying program that monitored daily life in Muslim communities, resulting in congressional calls for a federal investigation, and a debate over the proper role of domestic intelligence gathering.

Awarded to Michael J. Berens and Ken Armstrong of The Seattle Times for their investigation of how a little known governmental body in Washington State moved vulnerable patients from safer pain-control medication to methadone, a cheaper but more dangerous drug, coverage that prompted statewide health warning.

Explanatory Reporting: David Kocieniewski of The New York Times. Awarded to David Kocieniewski of The New York Times for his lucid series that penetrated a legal thicket to explain how the nation's wealthiest citizens and corporations often exploited loopholes and avoided taxes.

Local Reporting: Sara Ganim and members of The Patriot-News Staff, Harrisburg, PA. Awarded to Sara Ganim and members of The Patriot-News Staff, Harrisburg, Penn., for revealing and adeptly covering the explosive Penn State sex scandal involving former football coach Jerry Sandusky.

National Reporting: David Wood of The Huffington Post. Awarded to David Wood of The Huffington Post for his exploration of the physical and emotional challenges facing American soldiers severely wounded in Iraq and Afghanistan during a decade of war.

International Reporting: Jeffrey Gettleman of The New York Times Awarded to Jeffrey Gettleman of The New York Times for his reports, often at personal peril, on famine and conflict in East Africa, a neglected but increasingly strategic part of the world.

Feature Writing: Eli Sanders of The Stranger, a Seattle (Wash.) weekly. Awarded to Eli Sanders of The Stranger, a Seattle (Wash.) weekly, for his haunting story of a woman who survived a brutal attack that took the life of her partner, using the woman's courtroom testimony and the details of the crime to construct a moving narrative.

Commentary: Mary Schmich of the Chicago Tribune. Awarded to Mary Schmich of the Chicago Tribune for her wide range of down-to-earth columns that reflect the character and capture the culture of her famed city.

Criticism: Wesley Morris of The Boston Globe. Awarded to Wesley Morris of The Boston Globe for his smart, inventive film criticism, distinguished by pinpoint prose and an easy traverse between the art house and the big-screen box office.

Editorial Writing: No award

Editorial Cartooning: Matt Wuerker of POLITICO.. Awarded to Matt Wuerker of POLITICO for his consistently fresh, funny cartoons, especially memorable for lampooning the partisan conflict that engulfed Washington.

Breaking News Photography: Massoud Hossaini of Agence France-Presse. Awarded to Massoud Hossaini of Agence France-Presse for his heartbreaking image of a girl crying in fear after a suicide bomber's attack at a crowded shrine in Kabul.

Feature Photography: Craig F. Walker of The Denver Post. Awarded to Craig F. Walker of The Denver Post, for his compassionate chronicle of an honorably discharged veteran, home from Iraq and struggling with a severe case of post-traumatic stress, images that enable viewers to better grasp a national issue.

The Pulitzer Prize Board made its recommendations for the 2012 prizes when it met at Columbia on April 12 and 13 and passed them to President Lee C. Bollinger. Members of the Pulitzer Prize board are: President Bollinger; Danielle Allen, UPS Foundation professor, School of Social Science, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N.J.; Jim Amoss, editor, The New Orleans Times-Picayune; Randell Beck, president and publisher, Argus Leader Media; Robert Blau, managing editor for projects and investigations, Bloomberg News; Kathleen Carroll, executive editor and senior vice president, Associated Press; Joyce Dehli, vice president for news, Lee Enterprises; Junot Diaz, Rudge and Nancy Allen professor of writing, MIT; Thomas L. Friedman, columnist, The New York Times; Paul A. Gigot, editorial page editor and vice president, The Wall Street Journal; Steven Hahn, Roy F. and Jeanette P. Nichols professor of history, University of Pennsylvania; Nicholas Lemann, dean, Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University; Ann Marie Lipinski, curator, The Nieman Foundation, Harvard University; Gregory L. Moore, editor, The Denver Post; Eugene Robinson, columnist and associate editor, The Washington Post; Margaret Sullivan, editor, The Buffalo News; Paul Tash, chairman and CEO, Tampa Bay Times; Jim VandeHei, executive editor, POLITICO; Keven Ann Willey, vice president/editorial page editor, The Dallas Morning News; and Sig Gissler, administrator of the Prizes.

Source: (c) 2012. All rights reserved