News Column

Girls Rule Twitter's Top 10 Most Followed Accounts, Inlcudes Lady Gaga, Shakira and Selena Gomez

March 7, 2012

Rebecca Villaneda--HispanicBusiness

Females rule the top 10 spots of Twitter's most followed.
Females rule the top 10 spots of Twitter's most followed.

Aside from President Obama and Justin Bieber, the top 10 most followed Twitter accounts belong to the ladies.

Launched on July 15, 2006, Twitter opens the communication lines and creates equal balance between average folks, celebrities, politicians and everyone in between. Along with Facebook, Pinterest and LinkedIn, it's one of the top five used social media websites available. There are more than 350 million users on Twitter.

And here are your top 10:

Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) 20,270,494 followers

Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) 18,176,013 followers

Katy Perry (@katyperry) 15,817,696 followers

Shakira (@shakira) 14,618,174 followers

Rihanna (@rihanna) 14,589,554 followers

Britney Spears (@britneyspears) 13,707,481 followers

Kim Kardashian (@KimKardashian) 13,704,561 followers

Barack Obama (@BarackObama) 12,874,381 followers

Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13) 11,504,045 followers

Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) 10,762,221 followers

Twitter founders are Jack Dorsey, Noah Glass, Evan Williams and Biz Stone. Twitter Inc. is based in San Francisco, with additional servers and offices in New York City. Twitter generates more than 300 million tweets and handling over 1.6 billion search queries per day.

And girl tweeters rule.



Source: HispanicBusiness.com (c) 2012. All rights reserved.