News Column

Daylight Saving Coming Back Sunday; How to 'Spring Forward' 2012

March 5, 2012
daylight saving, daylight savings

Here's what you need to know about Daylight Saving Time 2012. Daylight Saving Time begins anew this coming Sunday, March 11. To "spring forward," simply set your clock forward one hour. That is, 2:00 a.m. will then become 3:00 a.m.

Daylight Saving Time was created to reduce energy by extending the period of sunlight to more hours of the day when people are awake. Hawaii and Arizona are the two U.S. states that do not participate in Daylight Saving Time. Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands also do not recognize Daylight Saving Time.

(And a reminder to those who care: the proper term is Daylight Saving Time--not "Daylight Savings Time." Though everybody will know what you mean if you forget.)

Source: (c) 2012. All rights reserved.

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters