News Column

The 2012 Nobel Physics Laureates

Oct. 9, 2012
Nobel Prize

The Nobel Physics laureates were named in Stockholm on Tuesday.

Serge Haroche: Born 1944 in Morocco. He received his doctorate from Pierre and Marie Curie University (Paris VI) in 1971. In 2001 he was appointed professor of quantum physics at the prestigious College de France, a teaching and research institution. He is also a professor at the Pierre and Marie Curie University. Haroche, who has won numerous prizes in Europe and the United States, has conducted most of his research at the Kastler Brossel laboratory, which is operated by the Ecole Normale Superieure.

David J. Wineland: Born 1944 in Milwaukee, Wis., in the United States. He received his doctorate from Harvard University in 1970. His advisor was Norman Ramsey, a 1989 Nobel Physics Laureate. Wineland is affiliated to the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Before joining NIST, Wineland worked as a postdoctoral research associate at the University of Washington with Hans Dehmelt, who shared the 1989 physics prize with Ramsey. Wineland was in 2007 awarded the National Medal of Science.

Source: Copyright 2012 dpa Deutsche Presse-Agentur GmbH

Story Tools Facebook Linkedin Twitter RSS Feed Email Alerts & Newsletters